peanut butter and jelly

photo 4

So. It’s June 1st, 9.58pm as I type this. Just 2 minutes shy of 2 hours to I turn 24. Dang. Okay so I shouldn’t be depressed like your average 30 year old woman. I mean, 24 is pretty much the new 21. Except that you pretty much know where you’re headed, more or less. You party less and your Facebook wall gets less inundated with alcohol-driven parties and flushed-red faces. That said, people don’t really have much reason to bitch about your personal life, except to wonder as they stalk you online at every waking hour.

photo 3

What’s really important now is yourself, really. Forget about boys (you can’t really call them guys until they are 90, but that’s just a figure of speech), it is time to focus on where you’re headed and what you seriously want in life. Where do you see yourself 5 years later? For one, I can’t foretell what life will be like in 5 years time for me. Maybe I’m afraid, but I guess I find thrill in not knowing what’s next, where I’ll be in a couple years or so. Instead, I like to enjoy the now, and try not to worry about the future.

After all, isn’t ignorance bliss?

photo 1Right now, I’m just enjoying life as it is. I try to keep myself terribly busy (which I find it addicting) with short bursts of breaks now and then. That’s when I try to catch up on sleep. This year is the year I hope to make things happen for good. Every year, you get one chance to make a wish (on your birthday). To be honest, I don’t really care about having a new bag or another pair of shoes. What I want, money can’t buy. If wishes could come true, I will wish for another 10 wishes just in case.

Ah, let’s live each day to the fullest. It’s easy to be grumpy all the time but it’s much easier to be happy. And hey, like how “easy” it is to grasp a man’s heart through food, it’s just as easy to make yourself a happy meal. In this case, a happy sandwich.

I never used to like the idea of peanut butter and jam together. Then one day, I decided to cook some raspberries (one of my favorites) over a small fire. Sprinkled sugar on them to my taste (I like my jam sour), and voila, I had a tart raspberry jam. I slathered it on one slice of bread and creamy Skippy peanut butter on another. It was the first and best peanut butter and jelly sandwich I’ve had, up till now. Looks a little gross, but it’s simple, yet satisfying.

photo 2

Think life is a peanut butter and jelly sandwich after all?

Leave a Reply

