Chocolate Yogurt Cake

At this moment, I’m seriously addicted and I think I might be down with a Les Miserables fever. It all started with this particular song…

Do you hear the people sing?

Singing a song of angry men

It is the music of a people who will not be slaves again!

When the beating of your heart

echoes the beating of the drums

There is a life about start when tomorrow comes!

And this is how I’m feeling now. This song from my favorite musical in the world echoes the exact thoughts in my head. The general elections are coming right up and I do hope for a change in government this very year, when I finally have the right to vote. Not that my vote is that big  a deal, but perhaps, this country will make the turning point we sorely need.

Les Miserables. There are so many ways to describe it, but the one thing I can say is that it is definitely the best musical I’ve seen around. There’s no doubt to it. The cast and music are absolutely brilliant, taking you on an emotional roller coaster ride, which you might never want to get off. This song (as above) was what that got me listening to the whole musical over and over again. It’s crazy, but perhaps I have the desire for revolution to take place here… That might do the country some good eh?

As addicted to the musical as I am to chocolate. And as silly as it may sound, chocolate and I go way back into time. From a mountain of chocolate coins, to pilfering my mother’s chocolates, to binging on thick hot chocolate sauce, I must say, it was meant to be…chocolate and me. While I prefer bittersweet chocolate in my desserts at the moment, I still like an ‘occasional’ candy fix. A twix bar, kit kat or a s’more. Sometimes a simple chocolate dessert can be so gratifying.

Like this yogurt chocolate cake. It’s so perfect on its own. You don’t need to go through the unnecessary fuss of frosting. Although, it is absolutely wonderful with a scoop of vanilla ice cream…Don’t bother complicating the simplicity of this cake. But if you wish, try making an almost s’more cake with homemade marshmallows! It’s a little over the top for me (ridiculous, I know), but…still, it’s pretty good.

ps. I know I’m a little crazy, switching between wordpress and blogger all the time. Make this cake, forgive me, and we’ll call it even? 😉

Yogurt Chocolate Cake
Makes a three layer 8″ cake

This is close to the original recipe, which I swapped the sour cream for plain yogurt. Yogurt is definitely healthier and it’s close to sour cream. Which is better? That’s up to you to decide. Aside from that, this produces a very, very moist cake. So be sure to butter and line your pans with parchment. I halved the recipe and got 6 cupcakes, and 1 8 inch layer of cake. You might also want to bake this at night and have it the next day. The cake gets more flavor by the day.


2 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 cups sugar
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (or dutch-processed, your preference)
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup canola oil
1 cup plain yogurt
1 1/2 cups water
2 tablespoons distilled white vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter three 8″ cake pans and line the bottoms with parchment paper. Butter again. Do not skip this step.
Sift the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt into a large bowl and whisk to combine. Whisk in the oil and yogurt, then gradually beat in the water. Add the vinegar and vanilla and mix to combine, and finally beat in the eggs until the batter is well combined. Divide among the three cake pans.
Bake for about 35 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out almost clean. Cool in the pans for 20 minutes, then invert onto a wire rack and peel off the parchment paper, letting the cakes cool completely.
29 thoughts on “Chocolate Yogurt Cake

  1. You had me at “Don’t bother complicating the simplicity of this cake.” — Now that’s what I’m talking about!

    I’ve been searching for the perfect chocolate cake, specifically a chocolate loaf cake. One perfectly dense for on the go, deep enough to give a chocolate kick, and a winner in its own right, without needing any adornments. I’m definitely going to convert this to a loaf, and give this a try 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sunday Selection « London is for Living

  3. You should be on blogger.. I really want to follow to you..:( just wondering if I could write this recipe on my blog( I will obviously give you credits, post my own pictures and write in my own words andstyle) asking in case of copyright issues.. love the recipe 🙂

  4. I’m kind of slow on the uptake, but are the measurements given here for the 1 8″ cake and 6 cupcakes? It looks beautiful and easy to make, so I don’t want to make a mistake from the beginning. Thanks!

  5. i did it yesterday and it´s wonderful! combined with my lovely cheese icing, all my friends agreed that it´s… simply perfect
    🙂

  6. Hi. Cake looks delish!
    I have a gluten free friend and was wondering if you think this would hold up as well using substitutes? I’m not very experienced, and don’t want to waste my time and ingredients if it won’t work out 🙂
    Thank you!!!

    • Hi! To be honest, I’m not very good with substitutes. Sometimes a recipe made in a way is better off that way. Try googling for tried and tested gluten-free desserts? (:

  7. Hi! The cake looks really good! Want to make it for my Dad’s birthday. One question tho…he’s allergic to eggs. What sbstitute can I use (don’t have the boxed egg substitute here). Thanks a ton!

    • Hi, I’ve looked up a website on egg substitutes and here’s an option:
      “Buttermilk is one of the preferred egg substitute used for eggless cake recipes. What you need to do is add half a cup of buttermilk (instead of one egg) and follow the same directions as you did for baking regular cakes. The only thing is to add less amount of water for making the dough. With buttermilk, the resultant cake will be very soft and tasty.”

      For more, take a look at http://chefinyou.com/egg-substitutes-cooking/

  8. I have made this cake like 4 times. It is delectable. Thanks for sharing! I’m makin for Easter and icing and then adding edible grass on top with chocolate bunny and jelly beans. Delicious and adorable!

Leave a Reply

