When eggs go solo in Pastry Cream

 

It’s 2011, and I think we should all do a Joey Tribbiani, “why God??? Why????”. But really, as much as I hate to see time go in a heartbeat, just build a bridge and get over it. Still, there’s no reason why we can’t pine for the lost memories created from time to time.

I won’t bore you with my new year’s resolutions, neither will I suffocate you with what I made last year. And even though I do not have fire crackers or sparklers here to start 2011 with a bang, I now present you one of my favorite recipes to make – Pastry Cream. It’s simple to make, yet impressive. Better yet, you don’t need to worry about stashing away a container of runny egg whites. This recipe only needs one egg, making the cream light, and just rich enough, without tasting too eggy. I love this with sugared filo, and some fruit.

So, here’s to another fantastic year of sugar, eggs, and a mighty pile of work to do! Cheers!

Perfect Pastry Cream
from cafecherie

1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups milk (divided into 1 cup and 1/2 cup)
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla

1.Whisk together egg with 1/2 cup of milk. Set aside.

2.Mix the sugar, flour and salt in a small saucepan. Stir in 1 cup of milk and mix until  smooth.

3.Bring mixture to a boil at medium heat, whisking constantly. Be careful of clumps. Cook another 2 minutes and remove from heat; the mixture should have thickened up dramatically.

4.Combine egg and milk mixture with the mixture in the saucepan, whisking vigorously to combine. Return to heat and cook (keep whisking until smooth) until it just starts to boil.

5.Remove from heat and stir in vanilla. Transfer to a bowl and cover with plastic wrap directly touching the surface to prevent any skin from forming. Let it cool to room temperature.

6.Chill for at least an hour in the fridge before using.

12 thoughts on “When eggs go solo in Pastry Cream

  1. I’m a newcomer to pastry cream, and I think it is often too eggy. For one, it seems that professionals use smaller than supermarket eggs – farm fresh ones I think – so when home cooks attempt the same things, they sometimes end up too eggy.
    I think that your egg-light version sounds marvelous!

  2. Pingback: food « oronald

  3. Pingback: Strawberry Tart « bake five!

Leave a Reply

