Easy 5 Minute Nutella Cake For One

5 min chocolate cake

I shall cut to the chase. This is a wonderful recipe to have on hand for last minute parties and if the microwave oven is the only contraption your kitchen has. It’s versatile, adaptable and so delicious. I recently saw this shared on Facebook and with a friend’s lunch party in a few days, I knew this was it. Depending on how long you microwave it, and how thick the walls of your cup is, your cake can be molten or a souffle. I like to microwave on 30 second bursts, giving me room to gauge the consistency.

Forgive the horrid photos. I took them on a whim.

Here’s the recipe below, with some tweaks I made.

Photo 6-4-13 3 04 44 PM

5 minute nutella cake in a cup for one

4 tablespoon self rising*

3 tablespoon sugar

1 egg

3 tablespoon cocoa powder

3 tablespoon Nutella

3 tablespoon milk

3 tablespoon vegetable oil

Mix the dry ingredients. Then add in the wet ones. One recipe is enough for a medium sized coffee mug, or 2 regular sized ramekins. Microwave on high at 30 second bursts, checking each time to prevent over cooking. From here, you can decide how moist you want the cake to be. My friends loved the molten texture, and so did I.

*substitute for self-rising flour recipe

3/4 cup all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

mix well

2 thoughts on “Easy 5 Minute Nutella Cake For One

  1. I just made it, and it’s delicious!
    Ive tried making this before, but all the recipes failed. This one is fine :)

Leave a Reply

