Churros; skinny donuts

It’s been thirty days into the year 2013. Sucks doesn’t it. Another 6 years till I reach the dreaded number 30. The faster time flies the more I get anxious about things I haven’t done or accomplished. And oh the bank account. Don’t even talk about it. It’s difficult to save when everything is so flipping expensive over here. Okay, maybe I can cut down on a beer or two. But really, sometimes it’s a necessity, you know.

churros

Things haven’t been the rosiest at the moment. There’s the usual family shit and again, family shit. But thankfully, there are things like Asos to keep myself occupied sometimes. I do not shop online. The only thing I’ve ever bought over amazon was a Donna Hay recipe book. Then came along Asos. Funny how much time can be spent browsing endless sun dresses and flip flops, bookmarking the ones. But, nothing of it. Guess I’m not an online shopper kind of person.

I’m kind of glad I took the liberty to travel to Vietnam with a couple of friends. Just two weeks back. And I must say, it was amazing. Seriously phenomenal. Okay, so we could have planned a little better, and avoided that extravagant French meal. Besides that, Ho Chi Minh is one city anyone must visit. Yes, it’s 3rd world, streets are filthy, and bloody difficult to cross the smallest road. Still, it was enjoyable. Food was good, beer was cheap (too cheap), and I felt safe. And not because I was chaperoned by 2 dudes (no that never counted).

If only we were that carefree over here. Everyone’s either getting stressed over deadlines or changes. People want things fast fast fast. Where the hell is the joy of just living life anymore? On some days, I think of getting hold on a one way ticket to a place (maybe San Francisco) far, far away. Away from all the heat. At times I think of why I am in such a mess. It gets overwhelming, and I don’t think I want to relive some parts of my life again.

churros

My one distraction I’m thankful for, food. Food that lots of thought has been put in. I’m thankful for eggs, butter, sugar and milk. Without them, how can we have such delicious food and of course, dessert? If there’s anything that has to be in my fridge, it’s dairy. I cannot imagine marrying someone who chooses to be vegan. Touch wood.

So what do I have here? It’s my favorite theme park snack and it’s spanish. Churros are so, so delicious. This recipe makes very light and fluffy churros. They are best eaten as soon as they are cooked. They are also fantastic with a bittersweet chocolate sauce.

And the best part? It’s so easy. Anyone can make these. Sometimes I wish I was a kindergarten school teacher. I’d gladly feed those buggery kids with an endless supply of dessert. Hahaha. Enjoy, people (:

churros

Churros

adapted from dorie greenspan through I am a food blog

  • 1/4 cup whole milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter (1/2 stick), cut into 8 pieces
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2.5 large eggs*, at room temperature (3 small to medium eggs work as well)
  • oil for deep frying
  • cinnamon-sugar for dusting

Bring the milk, water, butter and salt to the boil in a heavy-bottomed 2-quart saucepan.  When the mixture is boiling rapidly, add the flour all at once, reduce the heat to medium and, without a second’s hesitation, start stirring the mixture like mad with a wooden spoon.  The dough will come together very quickly and a slight crust will form on the bottom of the pan, but you have to keep stirring – vigorously – another 2 to 3 minutes to dry the dough.  At the end of this time, the dough will be very smooth.

Turn the dough into the bowl of a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. One by one, add the eggs to the dough, beating until each egg is thoroughly incorporated.  As soon as you add the first egg, your dough will separate.  Keep working and by the time you add the third egg it will start coming together again.  When all the eggs are incorporated, the dough will be thick and shiny and, when you lift some of it up it will fall back into the bowl in a ribbon. Spoon the dough into a piping bag with a star tip.

Heat about an inch of oil to 350 F in a deep cast iron skillet over medium high heat. Carefully pipe the dough into the oil. Snip with kitchen scissors when churro is your desired length. Fry, turning once, until golden brown, about 2 minutes per side. Drain on paper towels and immediately roll in cinnamon sugar. Enjoy hot!

**Half an egg is about 4 teaspoons.

3 thoughts on “Churros; skinny donuts

  1. Ah deep fried dairy makes everything better, especially when smothered in cinnamon sugar. I find it incredible how much stress you can relieve with even half an hour spent doing nothing else but cooking. Baking is particularly fantastic as it always for enjoyment, rather than for survival. Hope these churros made a bit of difference and things are looking up

  2. Pingback: 10 of the Best Donut Recipes - Dishin' With Rebelle | Dishin' With Rebelle

Leave a Reply

