Cheesecake and Annoying K-Pop Bands

WARNING: If you are a huge K-POP fan, proceed on to the recipe instead 

You’ve been warned.

Lately I’ve been practising for a music gig. This one piece called “Gee” has to be God’s way of telling us to not listen to certain music. Particularly cutesy, plastic surgeoned, annoying Korean Girl Bands.

Lets just say that my weekend has been totally spoiled by it. Just picture yourself being nagged at for 2 straight days. But wait, that’s actually less annoying.

 How “Gee” got to be #1 on the music charts is beyond me. Y’know, at least where Glee is concerned, there’s musicality and substance, and some pretty awesome vocals.

If you’re not convinced that most music these days have become so bad, take a look over at KevJumba’s. He’s an impressive vlogger and comedian. He and his Dad are currently on the Amazing Race too. GO TEAM JUMBA! Oh, and did I mention that I’m an avid TAR viewer? (:

So even if your weekend has been blemished by very disturbing lyrics, you can always save yourself by making some cheesecake.

Unlike a rich American cheesecake, Japanese cheesecake requires some cake flour and a little corn starch. And if you have been looking for a cake spongier than spongecake and that’s less than sweet, you’re right where you’re at. This cake is definitely a crowd pleaser, little children and adults alike.

And probably your pet dog too!

Japanese cheesecake

adapted from a recipe by ibakeforyou

makes one 9 inch cake or 2 medium sized cakes

250g light cream cheese, softened
50g butter
100ml milk
6 eggs, separated (make sure your egg whites are at room temperature. The more aged they are, the more volume you can whip up)
125g sugar
60g cake flour (low protein flour)
20g corn flour
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tbsp lemon juice (optional)

Preheat oven to 160C.

Melt cream cheese, butter and milk in a double boiler. While melting, whisk the mixture till smooth. Allow it to cool.

Add cream of tartar to the egg whites and whisk them until until foamy. Gradually add sugar while whisking until stiff peaks form.

Sift cake flour and corn flour in a large bowl. Mix in cream cheese mixture, egg yolks and lemon juice.

Gently fold in the egg whites till no trace of whites can be seen.

Transfer mixture into a greased/lined 9 inch springform baking pan. Wrap the sides and bottom of the baking pan with aluminium foil.

Place baking pan into a large roasting pan. Fill roasting pan with boiling water about up to half way to the baking pan.

Bake for about 50 mins to an hour. The top should be golden brown. If your cake browns too quickly, tent it with aluminium foil. Just be careful to not let the foil touch the cake as that will rip the brown crust off.

Leave door ajar for about 45mins with the cake in the oven. (ie. leave an oven mit in between door and oven to give about 1-2cm gap for heat to slowly disperse. Don’t open the door fully!)

Then, allow for it to cool completely on wire rack.

21 thoughts on “Cheesecake and Annoying K-Pop Bands

  1. That cheesecake looks delicious. I was so excited to read the recipe but your commentary about Kpop in the beginning totally ruined it for me. lol. Different strokes different folks, I guess.

    I might try the recipe sometime, since the cake does look delicious, though.

  2. K-pop. Wow. I am happy to say I had no idea what that meant, and I am sorry you have to deal with such unfortunate music.
    As for the cheesecake, well, I’ll consider that a much more fortunate discovery! It looks absolutely fantastic.

  3. I love K-pop but I can’t stand the girl groups (except for one) and I really hate that song Gee. I am sorry you have to sing it!!

    That recipe looks totally delicious! I am definitely going to try making that!!

    Keep posting the yummies on bakebakebake!

    • Mustanginblue: thanks for your kind comments! I hope you enjoy making and eating it. (: anyway, I’m actually playing it in a string quartet. That’s bad enough. I can’t imagine singing it. heh.

  4. Pingback: The Best Tasting Pizza Dough. Ever. « Bake Five!

  5. So… I’ve been wanting to make a Japanese cheesecake for about 3 years now. I procrastinate every time. I read tons of recipes for them and always the ones I want to make are instructed in the European metric system, not the American. (Seriously, it took me 3 years to get the courage to just purchase a springform pan.
    Though, once I did I was making cheesecakes almost everyday for a week!! Lol. Do you have this recipe in the American conversion? I am going to take the day off of work because I really want to do this right and have no distractions. With Thanksgiving coming up, I’d like to perfect it if I can. Thanks tons!!
    ~Kat

    • Hi Kat, sorry for this late reply. I don’t have it in American conversion, unfortunately. But if you can purchase a weighing scale for this (and more recipes in future), it would be very useful as it will be more accurate than using just cups. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

